TikTok Tests New ‘Re-Post’ Option to Boost Distribution of Clips

This is interesting – TikTok is currently testing a file ‘Repost’ option With some users enabling them to re-share TikTok clips with their followers, re-posting the clip and then displaying it in their communications feeds.

As you can see in this screenshot, posted by the user How is Adriano (and participates in it Matt Navarra) Some users can now see a new “Repost” button in their sharing options, which essentially amplifies that clip by re-share it in both the “Following” and “For You” feeds of your connections.

When you repost a clip, your connections will be able to see that you’ve re-shared it in the video details, along with any comments you’ve added to the clip.

Repost TikTok

So it’s another way to boost clips you like, and share them with all your friends at once, rather than sending each clip individually – although it’s interesting to see TikTok experiment with re-sharing in this way while social and other messaging platforms take into account the implications Negative feedback from users.

Twitter, for example, removed direct retweets as an option in the run-up to last year’s US election, in an effort to slow the blind amplification of political messages and disinformation. Twitter data showed that this approach has succeeded in sparking a more thoughtful discussion across tweets, while WhatsApp has also implemented rules to limit message redistribution within its systems in order to stop the spread of viral hoaxes and misinformation about the pandemic.

By making it easier to redistribute posts, this then increases the potential for disinformation to be spread more widely, as it is just a click away. And while TikTok isn’t necessarily known as a major source of deceptive information and malicious scams, adding the ability to re-share more easily offers greater potential on this front, which can be problematic.

But then again, perhaps TikTok simply sees this as a way to increase engagement by amplifying videos among friends that they all know some will love.

The option isn’t available to all users yet, so TikTok can still undo it, but it might provide another way to boost redistribution, if you can ask users to repost your clips.

Leave a Comment